Olivia Newton John. A little More Love.

A shining star has died. We will always remember Livvy as a forever young and beautiful Xanadu spirit, who filled the lives of many with her soulful voice. Olivia was my 1st voice teacher. When I was a young girl, my parents often left me alone to go out to eat, and I would crank up the radio and sing “Hopelessly Devoted to You.” I was planning on singing it for my high school talent show. But good thing I didn’t because the performer before me sang ” I honestly Love You” Olivia’s biggest hit.

This really got me to thinking about death again as Olivia was my idol when I was younger, and her death left a profound sadness that I had not experienced when other celebrities have died with the exception Of John Lennon. I wore black that day in 1981 to school to mourn his death.

I wondered if it was normal to feel so bad about this, after all I didn’t know her. But her life ran so parallel to mine. We both were singers and vegetarians, we both loved salads more than anything. We both use alternative medicine. I opened a health store, she a wellness center. We were both Libra’s for crying out loud. We were similar in so many ways.

I ordered her “Gold” album which basically has every hit she ever made on it. I was sad listening to the music and made a major realization. That death is inevitable, and I can’t hold onto anything but memories. Which means I had to really let my childhood go. All of it. I have been stuck in the 70’s for a long time. You should see the inside of my vintage trailer, I have not been able to embrace the millennium.

Getting older means going with the flow of change even if we don’t like it. I can’t tell the world to stop evolving. And if you are young and reading this it will not affect you. But if you grew up in the baby boomer generation like I did, you will completely understand what I am feeling.

So what can we do to bring a little more love into the world like Olivia did? Well…I don’t have an answer for that except for appreciating the present moment for all it has. The pandemics, the overpopulation, inflation, and all the ugliness has happened before. And it happened in the 70’s! Yep, we are in an exact replication of what has happened before. And then came the 80’s and that was really fun too. Life did get better. So I am holding out hope that if I can flow with these changes the world is going through, that I will see a better world in the future. And if you need a little more love, listen to Olivia Newton John songs to lift you up. She was a humanitarian and light giver to so many. Any sadness will be understandable, but soon you will be dancing and singing along with her again.

Until next time, light and love to you…

L

1 thought on “Olivia Newton John. A little More Love.”

  1. As a fellow singer and Olivia Newton John fan, I can completely relate to the sadness and sense of loss that comes with the passing of a beloved artist. It’s especially poignant when we feel a connection to them, as we both shared a love of singing and a similar lifestyle. But I agree with the sentiment that death is inevitable and we must cherish the memories we have and let go of the past. It’s a reminder to appreciate the present moment and hold onto hope for a better future. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and reminding us to bring a little more love into the world, just like Olivia did.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment